The Lost World of the Galápagos Islands


by Cristóbal Luna from Metropolitan Touring Chile

So here I am… for some reason every time I board a plane I feel a burst of melancholy.  I think of my life, my past, my future.  It’s like connecting with my inner self… strange… hard to explain.  I have been traveling intensely around the world for the last five years and can’t even remember how many trips I have taken during this time: 40, 50? I no longer know… what I do know is that I always remember and comment, with those close to me, about my experiences during the trips.

Today I will tell you about my last trip, where I am right now, in the lost world of the Galápagos.  It’s hard to find the precise word or the perfect expression to describe it; a lost archipelago off the coast of Ecuador.  Volcanic islands, endemic vegetation, small towns with local people, but above all animals, many animals…  You could say this is a sort of paradise for lovers of exotic animals.  The most diverse marine fauna (sea lions, large sea turtles, manta rays, so many fish it is hard to remember their names, sharks and penguins, among many other species) share their territory with thousands of birds and iguanas, which make it one of my favourite destinations to explore natural areas.

I feel so lucky!  I have just been in the islands for six days.  I was on board Yacht La Pinta on an expedition cruise, rated as the best small cruise vessel in the Galapagos in 2009.  It carries only 48 guests, a real luxury…

I visited many islands, saw more animals than ever before in my life, snorkelled among sea lions, turtles, fish and sharks; I walked paying close attention to the ground so I would not step on an iguana while avoiding looking up, just in case a passing bird left me a souvenir… I enjoyed every single visit to every single island.     

Ah! And the pleasures aboard the yacht; very personalized service, very good food and excellent Chilean wines.  My cabin was tops, and there were endless hours of conversation with fellow travellers on any interesting topic that came to mind.  I had an INCREDIBLE time… Before returning I spent a night at the Finch Bay Hotel.  Tropical beach, great dining, visiting Puerto Ayora, the nearby local town with bars and lively corners, plus a good jog to the incredibly beautiful Tortuga Bay.  Mmmmm…

Now, back in Quito, and back to reality, but only for one day, since I will be taking a plane to Peru.  I’ll tell you all about it… Lima, Arequipa, Colca Canyon, Cusco, the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Puno and Lake Titicaca… all this to come Ahhhhh…

The important thing for me is to be alert to every lesson the life brings to me.  I guess I am One in a Million!  Travel around the world as a job, getting to know new places, new faces, new cultures… Lucky me!

Cristóbal Luna de Chile en el Mundo Perdido de Galápagos

Y aquí estoy…  no sé porqué, pero siempre que me subo a un avión me baja la melancolía; pienso en mi vida, mi pasado, mi futuro.. Como que me conecto con mi yo interno… es raro.. no sabría bien cómo explicarlo… ya llevo más de 5 años viajando por el mundo de manera intensa.. ya no recuerdo cuantos viajes he hecho en este tiempo. 40, 50? Ya ni sé… lo que si sé es que siempre recuerdo y comento a mis cercanos sobre mis experiencias de viaje.

Ahora les voy a contar sobre mi último viaje, el cual estoy realizando en este mismo instante, en el mundo perdido de Galápagos. Me cuesta encontrar una palabra precisa o una expresión perfecta para describirla.  Un archipiélago perdido frente a la costa ecuatoriana. Se me vienen a la mente islas volcánicas, vegetación endémica, pequeños pueblos con gente local, pero sobre todo animales, y muchos… Podría decir que es una especie de paraíso del amante de los animales exóticos. Fauna marina de la más diversa (lobos marinos, gigantes tortugas de mar, manta rayas, peces que ya ni recuerdo cada nombre, tiburones y  pingüinos, entre varias otras especies) comparten su territorio con miles de aves e iguanas que hacen de este lugar uno de mis destinos favoritos para explorar áreas naturales.

Tengo mucha suerte! Acabo de terminar una estadía de 6 días en las Islas. Tomé 4 noches en el Crucero de Expedición La Pinta, elegido el mejor Crucero de Galápagos el 2009. Lleva solo 48 pasajeros, un verdadero lujo…

Visité un sinfín de islas, ví más animales juntos que en toda mi vida, buceé entre lobos marinos, tortugas, peces y tiburones, hice caminatas donde tenía que mirar el suelo para no pisar sobre alguna iguana y mirar al cielo para que no me cagara un pájaro encima.. No pude parar de disfrutar cada bajada.

Y ni hablar de cuando estaba a bordo del barco. Un servicio muy personalizado, muy buena comida y excelentes vinos chilenos. Mi cabina de primer nivel y gente con la que podía conversar largas horas de cualquier tema interesante que se pusiera en la mesa. Lo pasé INCREIBLE.. Y para terminar mi viaje a Galápagos, una noche en el Finch Bay Hotel. Playa tropical, buena mesa, visitas a Puerto Ayora, el pueblo local, con sus bares y esquinas llenas de vida y un buen trote hasta la increíblemente bella Tortuga Bay. Mmmmmmm…

Ahora de regreso a Quito. De vuelta a la realidad, aunque solo por un día ya que tomaré un vuelo hacia Perú. Ya les contaré… Lima, Arequipa, Cañon del Colca, Cusco, Valle Sagrado, Machu Picchu, Puno y Lago Titicaca… lo que se me viene aaaaaaa…

Lo importante para mi es estar atento a cada nueva lección que me da la vida. Crep que soy Uno en Un Millón! Viajar por el mundo por mi trabajo, conociendo nuevos lugares, nuevas caras, nuevas culturas…  Qué suerte tengo…

Leave a Reply

