Carnaval in Pachijal


By:  Tamara De Karolys – Metropolitan Touring Ecuador

Early Sunday morning we leave with my pickup Quito with the kids and start the 3 hour drive to our tiny, yet beautiful hide-away in Pachijal, where I share a wooden cottage with my dear friend Maria Cecilia; every now and then, when we can enjoy a long weekend, I take my family – that are 2 teenage kids and  my husband to leave the city to seek relaxation and peace in nature – there is no better place than the rainforest to me – spending some hours in the middle of vast “ Green´ness” is a mixture of an adventure – & spiritual peace-escape.

There are not too many cars on the road, we arrive after 3 hours; I have not come for over a year…and as soon as I get to there, I ask myself why it took me so long to return; the house is in very good shape, all is in place and quickly we make ourselves comfortable; the kitchen is perfectly equipped, lunch is ready soon, followed by a lazy afternoon.

We enjoy the view from our terrace and listen to the incredible sounds of wildlife…it is unbelievable how loud the concert from all kinds of insects can become. Peace. Calmness. Relaxation.

At night time our main concern is to keep our food clean from hundreds of small to really big flying creatures…no electricity, but candles; stories, comments, jokes and loads of laughter, this is what I call quality time with my dearest ones.

We enjoy walks through the forest, swimming in the nearby waterfalls, motorbike rides, Ceviche de Palmito and many hours of peace!

I promise to myself to come more often – the place is unique, it is close by, it is in the middle of pure nature, it is a priviledge.

Leave a Reply

