Visit to Rio Sagrado hotel at Sacred Valley, Cusco, Peru


By: Faride Altamirano

I find myself once again heading to the city of Cusco; this time to visit the Rio Sagrado Villas & Spa. My experience at the airport went without a hitch, arriving in Cusco at 9:00 am and we were at the hotel one and a half hours later.

The first thing that impressed me was the hotel’s splendid location; it is constructed on the mountain slopes that line the shores of the Vilcanota River. The building itself is very Andean. The construction techniques include the use of traditional local materials, such as leather, stone and adobe, which contrast beautifully with exquisite details like Murano glass pieces, radiant crockery, Phillppe Starck lighting and Belgium curtains which lend elegance and sophistication to the ambience.

After settling into my room (the Junior Suite); I began to admire each of the thoughtful details… We inspected the hotel with the aid of golf carts, which our clients may also use.  The hotel has 12 Queen Deluxe guestroom, 9 Junior and 2 villas: Villa Capuli (220 m2), and Villa Orquidea (320 m2.).

The most anticipated time has arrived! El Huerto Restaurant and its delicious, lovingly created dishes await us. The afternoon was spent in the sauna, Jacuzzi and Massage Room, and it is here that I also admired the starlit sky.

As night approached I made my way to my room. As someone used to watching the news before going to sleep, I found the total silence a surprise at first. Guestrooms do not have televisions, radio, MP3 players, or anything else that generates noise. When I awoke, the incredible softness of the sheets, goose down pillows and ultra comfortable beds, combined with an unrivalled view of the Urubamba River, made getting up early impossible. We had the day to spend at our leisure, enjoying the sun and tranquility of the valley. Sadly, it is now time to depart, but at least I do so very relaxed, and impressed by Peru’s precious landscape and fine taste – it works wonders!

Leave a Reply

